CBS Annual Hurling Blitz. . .


The school’s annual 1st/2nd year hurling blitz took place on Monday 27th of April in the Roscommon Gaels GAA grounds in Lisnamult. Four teams of 15a side competed throughout the day for the ‘Ciarán Byrne Perpetual Cup’. The tournament was played on a league basis with the top two teams competing again in the final. The teams involved were as follows: CUSACK (Pictured in orange): Ronan Banahan, Michael Dunne, Kevin Brennan, Michael Brennan, Anthony Banahan, Evan Hoare, Tim Lambe, Oran McGeeney, Gustavo Rodrigues, Keith Doyle, Kyle Walsh, Michéal Beirne, Jamie Tiernan, Ryan Doorly, and Ronan Finnerty.4. CUSACK CROKE (Pictured in blue): James Fitzpatrick, Leigh Doyle, Cathal Fagan, Kevin Glynn, Anthony Farrell, Tom Farrell, Jack Lohan, Conor McCormack, Eddie Campbell, Aodha Hession, Dylan Horan, Diarmuid Feeley, and Niall Hickey. 1 CROKEPARNELL (Pictured in yellow):  Simon Harkins, Evan Keane, Seán McLoughlin, Daire McDonald, Gearóid Grady, Cian Murray, Ciarán Lawless, James Fagan, Fergal Hoare, Dylan Hanley, Rory Gacquin, Brian Neilan, Liam Ormsby, Albert Looby, and Robbie Kenny.3 PARNELL2 DAVITT DAVITT(Pictured in red): Mark Purcell, Colin Walsh, Ryan O’Keeffe, Cormac Regan, Seán Tully, James Mooney, Eric O’Doherty, Joseph O’Malley, John Martin, Orin Hoare, Conor McNamara, Robert Gately, Lee Kilroe, Conor Rohan, and John McDonnell.

All group games proved to be competitive affairs, with Davitt topping the table with three wins and Parnell securing the other final spot with two wins. A tight first half in the final left the teams deadlocked at halftime 1-4 to 2-1. Goals proved crucial in the second half however as Parnell added 5-2 to in the second period, wining in the end on a score line of 7-3 to 2-4. The successful side will be presented with their medals at a later date. Well done to all involved. Special word on thanks to Philip Mullen and Roscommon Gaels for the use of their grounds.