Post Primary Schools 1 – Wall Blitz 2016

Post Primary Schools 1 – Wall Blitz 2016

On Thursday 10th March 2016, Meánscoil Mhuire gan Smál, Roscommon Town hosted the fourth annual Post Primary Schools One – Wall Handball Blitz. This event was targeted at 1st and 2nd year students who were beginners to handball. The titles up for grabs were the Boys and Girls Perpetual Cup and the Boys and Girls Plate Events.

CBS Roscommon had 2 teams involved in the day’s action.

 Team 1: Leigh Doyle, Ciaran Neil Smith, Ben Connaughton and Michael Corcoran.

 Team 2: Conor Earley, Stephen Kelly, Anthony Farrell and Fergus Earley.

Subs: Kevin Fannon and William Neary. Team mentors on the day Halid Yakhyaev, Magomed Yakhyaev and Conan Delaney.

Team One were victorious in their first game against Strokestown, with a scoreline of 27 –13. They then went on to play Roscommon Community College in the semi – final, a competitive game, with an end result of 24 – 16 in favour of C.B.S. The lads then went on to play a fantastic final against Strokestown and got their name on the Boys Perpetual Cup for the second  time, with a final score of 33- 31.

Team Two showed great determination as they started out with a 24-15 win against Elphin. They narrowly lost out for a place in the final on a score-line of 16-21 against Strokestown in the semi-final.

Overall, a great day was had by all. Well done to all schools who took part in the Blitz again this year. Keep up the good work and the training. A reminder that lunch time training continues Tuesdays for 1st and 2nd years in St. Comans.  

A special word of thanks to Oisín Naughton, all referees and officials for a thoroughly enjoyable day.