On Thursday September 29th the CBS first year footballers got their first taste of what it was like to don the red and white. A panel of 24 represented the CBS which was split into two teams that competed in two groups alongside other Roscommon Schools. Blitz days are hugely important in the early stages of the development of our students as it gives them an opportunity to enjoy themselves on the pitch pressure free, and provides them with an opportunity to interact with students from other schools in a positive manner. Official scores are not recorded as the emphasis is on developing skills. Players are encouraged to express themselves and start to develop a relationship and understanding on the pitch with their new classmates.

Other schools who participated included, St. Aloysius, Athlone Community College, Abbey Community College Boyle, Scoil Mhuire Strokestown, and Castlerea Community College. All games were highly entertaining competitive affairs with some fine exhibitions of positive play on show. A hugely enjoyable day was had by all. Full panel listed below:

Aaron Lyons (St Ciarans) Anthony Gorman (St Ciarans) Aodhán Looby (Kilbride) Brian Mcloughlin (Kilbride) Cian Kelly (St Dominics) Ciaran Purcell (Roscommon Gaels) D.J. Hession (Roscommon Gaels) Dara Hughes (Roscommon Gaels) Darren Gately (St Ciarans) Edimar Filho (Roscommon Gaels) Finn Carroll (Roscommon Gaels) Fionnán Wynne (Roscommon Gaels) Jack Donnellan (Roscommon Gaels) Jason O’Connor (St Faithleachs) Karol Feerick (Roscommon Gaels) Keelan Reynolds (St Dominics) Korey Kedian (Kilbride) Lee Kilcoyne ( St Faithleachs) Mark Watson (St Dominics) Michael Devine (Kilbride) Niall Shanagher (Kilbride) Shane Gately (St Dominics) Shane Walsh (Oran) Thomas Carr (St Ciarans).