This year’s first year footballers got off to the best possible start in their first competitive outing for the school with victory over Holy Rosary College Mountbellew on Tuesday October 18th.

Mountbellew started the brighter with the opening point. Michael Devine opened the CBS’s account before Darren Gately pointed to edge the CBS in front 0-2 to 0-1. Mountbellew dominated the next period of the game registering the next three scores. Centre forward Shane Walsh pointed before Darren Gately brought the Roscommon men level. Mountbellew did produce the first goal chance of the game but goalkeeper Niall Shanagher pulled off a fine save to keep the game level. Mountbellew pointed again to edge in front but the CBS responded perfectly with a well taken goal from corner forward Karol Feerick. Mountbellew pointed before Gately added another score to maintain the advantage. The game was very much tit for tat however and Mountbellew were back on terms as a parried effort from Shanagher was finished to the net. The Galway side pointed again before Gately settled things for the CBS with a pointed free. Holy Rosary finished the half the better with another point before a long range effort dropped into the net to raise the green flag once again. This left the halftime score at 2-8 to 1-6 in favour of Holy Rosary.

Despite the five point deficit the CBS were playing with a strong breeze in the second half and would push on to make this work to their advantage. Early in the second half the CBS were back level, two points from play and a free from Gately, a well taken score from Shane Walsh and a pointed effort from wing forward DJ Hession all within the opening seven or eight minutes of the half products of the Roscommon sides dominance. Holy Rosary edged in front again before points from wingback Cian Kelly, two more from Gately and a point from Aaron Lyons put the CBS back in the driving seat. The CBS were now very much the dominant side and made their pressure count as Gately was hauled to the ground inside the square and awarded a penalty. He duly stepped up himself and stroked the ball to the bottom left corner. Feerick pointed again and Lyons raised the green flag again for the CBS with a fine individual effort. Devine and Gately pointed again before Mountbellew tacked on another point. It was too little too late for the Galway side however, the CBS running out winners 3-18 to 2-10. Well done to all involved and excellent first competitive performance for the first years.

1. Niall Shanagher, 2.Jason O’Connor, 3.Anthony Gorman [C], 4.Jack Donnellan, 5. Cian Kelly (0-1) 6.Michael Devine (0-2), 7.Edimar Filho, 8.Mark Watson, 9.Aaron Lyons (1-1), 10.Aaron Shannon, 11. Shane Walsh (0-2), 12. DJ Hession (0-1), 13. Darren Gately (1-10), 14.Aodhan Looby, 15. Karol Feerick (1-1) SUBS: Thomas Higgins for Jack Donnellan, Shane Gately for Aodhán Looby.