Since participating in both Connacht Super Touch blitz’s this year’s first year hurlers have played matches against HRC Mountbellew and St Killian’s New Inn.

The first game up was a difficult trip to Mountbellew to play a very strong holy rosary outfit. This game came at an unfortunate time for the CBS as they were without two key figures in Mark Watson and Aaron Lyons through injury. Mountbellew always provide difficult opposition and this year was no different, exemplified by the fact that their centre forward is also a key member of their Junior hurling team. The Roscommon side battled bravely but Holy Rosary were just too strong throughout the field.

The CBS picked themselves up after this defeat however and travelled to new inn to play St Killian’s on Wednesday March 15th. The CBS were slow out of the starting blocks and were made to pay dearly conceding 1-5 in the opening five minutes. They did however soon come into the game with a goal from Mark Watson. New Inn responded before Aaron Lyons goaled for the CBS leaving the score at 1-8 to 2-0. By the twenty minute mark the Roscommon side were well in this game. Watson netted again before Lyons added a point. New Inn were still proving a threat going forward and tacked on more points to widen the gap again. Watson pointed before the break to leave the halftime score New Inn 3-8 Roscommon CBS 3-2. Watson, Lyons, DJ Hession and Shane Walsh all got on the scoresheet for the Roscommon men in the second half but unfortunately they had left themselves too much to do, with a couple of goals from the Galway side towards the end killing the contest. Well done to all involved for a massive effort in both games. Onwards and upwards.

Ruarí Tiernan Athleague/Tremane, Finn Killion Roscommon Gaels, Mark Watson St Dominics, Shane Gately St Dominics, Keelan Reynolds St Dominics, Aodhan Looby, Roscommon Gaels, Darren Gately Athleague/Tremane, Philip Halliday Roscommon Gaels, D.J. Hession Roscommon Gaels, Aaron Lyons St Ciarans, Dara Hughes Roscommon Gaels, Aaron Shannon Roscommon Gaels, Ben Johnson Roscommon Gaels, Daniel Fitzmaurice St Ciarans, Fionn Hoare Roscommon Gaels, Lorcan Lyons St Dominics, Eoghan O’brien Athleague/Tremane, Thomas Carr Athleague/Tremane, Karol Feerick St Dominics, Daniel Fallon St Dominics, Kevin Connaughton Roscommon Gaels Shane Walsh Oran, Anthony Gorman Athleague/Tremane, James Murray Athleague/Tremane Seán Mccormack Athleague/Tremane.