The Celtic Challenge is the only competition in Hurling that has teams from all 32 counties participating. In 2017 a total of 40 teams with over 1000 players played in the competition throughout Ireland. During a seven week period an incredible 118 games were played including six divisional finals. Roscommon CBS were heavily involved in the success of the Roscommon team when they won the Michael Feery cup against Armagh in a thrilling final played in Netwatch Park Carlow in June. With quarter final and semi final wins over Co. Wicklow and Louth played in the GAA centre of excellence in Abbotstown Dublin, Roscommon had qualified for the Michael Feery final. Played in ideal conditions in Carlow,Roscommon played excellently on the day defeating a gallant Armagh side. It was a great source of pride for the school to see current fifth year student Orin Walsh lift the trophy and securing a first underage title in hurling for Roscommon for many a year. Jack Lohan, Ferghal Hoare and Cian Murray also played on the day. Other CBS players on the panel were Lee Kilroe, Conor Rohan, Michael Beirne, Eddie Campbell and Conor Mc Namara. Also current Co. Roscommon development officer Proinsias Killion and current staff member and under 17 selector Noel Moran were heavily involved in the success. Congratulations to all for Rising to the Challenge !!!