Junior Hurling Update 2018

Roscommon CBS’s participation in this year’s Connacht Junior Hurling Championship has ended after another hard fought campaign.  


The CBS were drawn in a testing group alongside St Cuan’s College Castleblakeney, St Marys College Ballygar and Roscommon Community College. The opening group game was against near neighbours Roscommon Community College, played in Lisnamult on October 12th. A gale force breeze had a significant impact on this opening fixtures with both sides struggling to score from distance. Despite this it was entertaining and hugely competitive as both teams were very evenly matched. The CBS leading 2-4 to 1-4 at halftime. RCC nabbed a goal in the opening thirty seconds of the second half to level matters. The game continued in this vain throughout the second period with the CBS eventually emerging the victors 2-11 to 2-6.   

This was a positive start to the campaign but the CBS were to receive a wakeup call when they played St Cuan’s College in Mountbellew on October 25th. It was apparent from the opening exchanges that this was going be a long day for the Roscommon men. To their credit the CBS lads maintained their effort throughout the encounter, racking up an impressive 2-14, but it would be far from enough on this day as they were comprehensively beaten.  

This meant that the CBS’s last game against Ballygar was win or bust. Horrendous conditions in Athleague on Friday November 9th were the story of this day with a strong driving wind and heavy rain making it difficult for both teams to get going. Ballygar edged the first half leading 2-5 to 1-1. The CBS raised the green flag early in the second period to reduce the deficit to four and it looked as if we were set for another tight encounter. Unfortunately, that goal would be the last time the Roscommon Town side scored. Conditions had reduced the game to a physical battle with the Ballygar awarded a number of crucial frees which they duly converted. Final score CBS 2-1 Ballygar 2-9. This ended the Roscommon Town’s involvement in the Junior Championship for 2108. Sincere thanks to the lads involved for the effort they put in.  

Junior Hurling Panel 2018/2019: Mark Purcell, Michael Corcoran, Niall Brennan, Ben Connaughton, Naosie Coyle (C), Tomas Crean, Liam Og Hamrock, Ronan Lambe, Aaron Mulry, Daniel O’Brien, Mark O’Malley, Patrick Tiernan, Karol Feerick, Darren Gately, Anthony Gorman, DJ Hession, Finn Killion, Aaron Lyons, Eoghan O’Brien, Keelan Reynolds, Shane Walsh, Mark Watson, Aidan Hoare, Tomás Tiernan, Tadhg Lyons, Sean Kilcline.