CBS Golf Team Named Roscommon Herald Sportstar Award

The CBS Roscommon were delighted to be recognised by their community last Friday night when they were named the Junior winners in the Roscommon Herald Sportstar Award.  At a gala event in the Abbey Hotel – attended by Ireland soccer legend Ray Houghton, the school were honoured for their remarkable achievement earlier this year, winning the greatest accolade in schools’ golf – the All-Ireland U-19 Senior Golf Championship. 


This team consisted of Allan Hill, Thomas Higgins, Simon Walker, Fionn Hoare, Cian O’Connor, Alan Connaughton, Michael Corcoran and Kevin Connaughton. The students were hugely honoured to be awarded the much coveted award.


CBS Roscommon would like to pay tribute to the parents involved for their time, effort and support along the way. Thanks also to Roscommon Golf Club in the development of this team. In addition, a huge thanks must go to Michael Connaughton, Liam McNeill, the CBS Roscommon Past Pupils Golf Society and Michael McIntyre who contributed significantly to the CBS golfing team. Thanks also to CBS teacher, Mr. Mark Hodgins who coached the team. Finally, the CBS would like to thank the Roscommon Herald profusely for such a fantastic award and ceremony.