Ultan Harney and Denis Buckley honour phenomenal sports year in CBS

Roscommon sports star Ultan Harney and Connacht rugby’s Denis Buckley were in attendance at CBS Roscommon last week to honour the historic achievements of the various sports teams throughout the year.   

Successes in football, hurling, rugby, handball and golf were all recognised last Wednesday afternoon in the school’s annual Sports Awards ceremony which took place against the backdrop of a glittering display of silverware won by the CBS throughout the year.  


The CBS Juvenile Football Connacht Champions each received a medal for the effort and dedication put into their campaign throughout the year. Their manager Mr. Simon Kelly also paid tribute to work ethic of this team.   

Those who were presented with medals on the day by Ultan Harney  included: Ciaran Purcell (Roscommon Gaels), Ethan O’Reilly (Roscommon Gaels), Diarmuid Harrington (Oran), James Connolly (Roscommon Gaels), David Hough (Roscommon Gaels), Conor Gannon (St Faithleachs), Conor Betts (St Faithleachs), Aodhan Looby (Kilbride), Edimar Filho (Roscommon Gaels), DJ Hession (Roscommon Gaels), Shane Walsh (Oran), Senan Lambe (Roscommon Gales), Jack Fleming (Roscommon Gaels), Aidan Hoare (St Dominics), Ronan McDermott (St Dominics), Eoin Kelly (St Faithleachs), Tomas Tiernan (St Ciarans), Fionn Fagan (St Dominics),  Daniel Crehan (St Ciarans), Oisin Donohue (St Dominics),  Micheal Hussey (Oran), Rodhan Dowd (Roscommon Gaels), Lee Kilcoyne,  Conor Kavanagh (St Ciarans), Daniel O’Shaughnessy (St Croans), Cormac Feeley (Roscommon Gaels), Gearoid Keenan (St Dominics), Wellington da Silva (Roscommon Gaels), Tadgh Lyons (St Ciarans), Cormac Dolan (Roscommon Gaels), Colm Lyons (St Dominics) and Nathan O’Connor (St Dominics). Juvenile footballer of the year was named as Aodhan Looby. 

First Year Footballers were also honoured for a fantastic year which saw them also win a Connacht title. The recipients of medals – also presented by Ultan Harney –  included: Conor Grogan, Joe O’Connor, Ruairi Kilcline, Kevin Beirne, Zawyal Khan, Liam Moran, Eoghan Keaveney, Jamie Betts, Eoin Cox, Andrew Oates, Ben Donnellan, Carl Cummins, Cian Gacquin, Noah Kelly, Adam Gallagher, Ruairi CarthyCathal Feerick, Ryan Hanley, Daniel Bolger, Sean Rohan, David Brennan, Eoghan Murray, Ciaran O’Reilly, Tyrone Brogan, Sean Kelly, Dara Kedian, Barry Gately, Michael Moran, Michael Harrington and David Malone. First Year footballer of the Year was named as Eoghan Murray.   

Denis Buckley was also in attendance to present the rugby players of the year with their trophies. Mr Griffith, Mr Hynes and Mr Casey all paid tribute to a historic year in rugby for the CBS Roscommon, and thanked all those who had helped achieve this. U14 Player of the Year was named as Sean Rohan. U16 Player of the Year was Tyrese Etete. U18 Player of the Year was John McDonnell.   

Handballer of the year was named as Ruairi Kilcline and he was presented with his medal by teacher Ms Michelle Daly. Simon Harkin was named Golfer of the Year. 

A huge thank you to all those who helped to co-ordinate the awards ceremony, and to special guests Ultan Harney and Denis Buckley for taking the time to meet our players and present the awards.  

The All Ireland Winning Senior panel will have a very special awards ceremony of their own later in the summer, more details will be available later in the summer.