CBS Roscommon Connacht Champions Receive Inaugural Ciaran Byrne Trophy

CBS Roscommon footballers officially received the inaugural Ciaran Byrne Trophy last week to mark their victory in the First Year B Connacht Colleges final earlier this year.

It was fitting that the CBS Roscommon was the first name engraved on the trophy named after the teacher and GAA coach who dedicated so much of his time to the school. Ciaran, who passed away in 2018, taught in the CBS from 1978 and was a driving force behind GAA games throughout that time. During his 37 year teaching career there, Ciaran Byrne coached many football and hurling teams. He remained proudly and inextricably linked to the school’s footballing fortunes even after his retirement. He could be found supporting the school whenever the opportunity presented itself and was spotted cheering on the Red and White just months before his passing.

He was heavily involved in Colleges GAA all his life and was Chairperson of Connacht Colleges GAA and Vice Chairperson of the All Ireland Colleges at the time of his death. In his role with Connacht GAA nothing gave Ciaran more pleasure than presenting a Cup to a CBS Captain.

The CBS first year squad who beat St Attracta’s Tubbercurry and received the Ciaran Byrne Trophy included included: Andrew Oates (Ros Gaels), Karl Cummins (Kilbride), Kevin Beirne (St Dominics), Michael Harrington (Oran), Ryan Hanley (St Croans), Ciaran O Reilly ( Ros Gaels), Mike Moran ( St Dominics), Rory Carthy (Ros Gaels), Jamie Betts ( St Faithleachs), Conor Grogan (Ros Gaels), Ruairi Kilcline (St Dominics), David Brennan ( Kilbride), Cathal Feerick (St Dominics), Eoghan Murray (Oran), Eoghan Keaveney ( Ros Gaels), Noah Kelly ( Kilbride), Daniel Bolger (St Aidans), Sean Rohan (St Faithleachs), Tyrone Brogan ( Oran), Ben Donnellan (Ros Gaels), Joe O Connor (Kilbride), Dara Kedian (Kilbride), Barry Gately (St Dominics), Cian Gacquin (St Ciarans), Eoin Cox ( St Faithleachs), Sean Kelly (St Faithleachs), Andrew Gallagher (St Ciarans), Liam Moran (St Croans), Zawyal Khan (Ros Gaels) David Malone (St Croans).

Many thanks to the coaches Mr Noel Moran, Mr Eimhin Griffith and Sean Adamson. Congratulations to the players, and the Ciaran Byrne Trophy will be proudly displayed in the CBS for the next year.